If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (678) 432-3003

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

What are the different categories of water damage?

5/19/2022 (Permalink)

Did you know there are different categories of water and different ways of handling water damage depending on the type? Water damage is more common than people realize. Approximately 14,000 water damage emergencies happen every day, both commercial and residential.

As stated by the IICRC (Institute of Inspection Cleaning and Restoration Certification), which certifies and sets the standards for the cleaning and restoration industries such as SERVPRO, there are three categories of water that you need to be on the lookout for.

  • Category 1 Water: This form of water comes from a clean and sanitary source (faucets, drinking fountains, showers, etc.) and does not pose a hazard if consumed by humans.
  • Category 2 Water: This category of liquid is also referred to as “grey water” and contains a significant degree of chemical, biological or physical contaminants. If ingested by humans, this type of water can cause illness. Common examples of category 2 water include losses from toilet bowls, water discharge from dishwashers or washing machines, and sump pump failures.
  • Category 3 Water: Refers to the worst classification of water and is known to be grossly unsanitary. It is also called “black water,” and it could cause severe illness or even death if ingested. Sources of this type of water include sewer backup, flooding from rivers or streams, and ground surface water or standing water.

If you ever run into a situation where you are dealing with any of these categories of water, give SERVPRO of Henry, Spalding, Butts Counties and SERVPRO of Clayton County at 678-432-3003 and let us handle this disaster for you!

Other News

View Recent Posts